Sumter County Republican Party elects new officers at convention


The Sumter County Republican Party held its convention on April 1. The following guests joined: U.S. Rep. Ralph Norman, R-SC; state Sen. Penry Gustafson, R-Camden; state Rep. Brandon Newton, R-Lancaster, who ran the convention; S.C. GOP Chairman Drew McKissick; S.C. GOP Executive Director Hope Walker; S.C. GOP 1st Vice Chair Cindy Risher; S.C. GOP 2nd Vice Chair Leon Winn; and Clarendon County Republican Chairman Moye Graham, parliamentarian. Other guests included Doug Speer, who is running for chairman of the Kershaw County GOP, and Deb Dollarhide, also from Kershaw County.

There were 83 delegates present to elect the new leadership team for the Sumter County GOP, which includes William Oden, chair; Nancy Pugh, 1st vice chair; Wendi Drusch, 2nd vice chair; Nicole Smyth, 3rd vice chair; and Gene Weston, executive committeeman.

Also elected were 20 delegates and 20 alternates to the State GOP Convention.