S.C. Senate District 35 races headed to runoffs for Democrats, Republicans

Candidates vying to succeed Thomas McElveen, who did not run for 4th term


Both party races for the District 35 seat in the state Senate will be decided in a runoff in two weeks, as no candidate received more than 50% of the vote.

On the Democratic side, Jeffrey R. Graham will face Austin B. Floyd Jr. after they were the two top vote-getting candidates June 11. Graham led with 46.99% of the vote, 2,412 votes, while Floyd secured 37.78%, 1,939 votes. They both beat out Lucy Mahon, who had 15.23% of the vote, 782 votes.

In the Republican primary, Mike Jones nearly secured his nomination but fell short with 49.51% of the vote, 1,939 votes. He will face Lindsay Agostini, who got 30.36% of the vote, 1,189 votes. They beat Christina Allard’s 16.6% and Jerry Chivers’ 3.52%.

The winner in November will succeed Thomas McElveen, who decided to not run for re-election for his fourth term, capping off 12 years in the Senate.

Results are unofficial until they are certified later this week. Tallies are reported by county election offices to the state at SCVotes.gov.