Election 2024 results: Local, state primary races in Sumter, Clarendon, Lee counties


Here are the results, as they come in, of the statewide general primary taking place June 11. Results are unofficial until they are certified later this week. Tallies are reported by county election offices to the state at SCVotes.gov.


June 12

(10:30 a.m.) Both party races for the District 35 seat in the state Senate will be decided in a runoff in two weeks, as no candidate received more than 50% of the vote.

On the Democratic side, Jeffrey R. Graham will face Austin B. Floyd Jr. after they were the two top vote-getting candidates last night. Graham led with 46.99% of the vote, 2,412 votes, while Floyd secured 37.78%, 1,939 votes. They both beat out Lucy Mahon, who had 15.23% of the vote, 782 votes.

In the Republican primary, Mike Jones nearly secured his nomination but fell short with 49.51% of the vote, 1,939 votes. He will face Lindsay Agostini, who got 30.36% of the vote, 1,189 votes. They beat Christina Allard’s 16.6% and Jerry Chivers’ 3.52%.

The winner in November will succeed Thomas McElveen, who decided to not run for re-election for his fourth term, capping off 12 years in the Senate.

June 11

(9:57 p.m.) WASHINGTON (AP) — Duke Buckner wins Republican nomination for U.S. House in South Carolina's 6th Congressional District.

(9:30 p.m.) In the Clarendon County Council chair race, Jay Johnson won the Republican nomination with 88.34% of the vote, at 1,561 votes, against LaNette Samuels Cooper who got 11.66% of the vote, or 206 votes, with 100% of precincts reporting.

(9 p.m.) In the Sumter County Council District 7 race, Tasha Gardner-Greene won the Democratic nomination with 50.77% of the vote, or 298 votes, against Gloria J. Lee, who got 49.23% of the vote, or 289 votes.

(8:55 p.m.) In the Lee County Council District 5 race, Jacqueline Josey won the Democratic nomination with 62.58% of the vote, or 204 votes, against Kimberly King, who got 37.42% of the vote, or 122 votes.

(8:45 p.m.) In the Lee County School Board District 1 race, Mattie Moses Mack won the Democratic nomination with 62.82% of the vote, or 98 votes, beating Kelvin Wilson, who got 37.18% of the vote, or 58 votes.

(8:10 p.m.) In the Clarendon County Council District 2 race, Republican Kurtis Rodine beat Jose A. Calvo with 53.77% of the vote, a total of 364 votes, with 100% of precincts reporting to SCVotes.gov.

In the Clarendon County Council chair race, Republican Jay Johnson has 87.9% of the vote, at 1,453 votes, compared to LaNette Samuels Cooper who has 12.1% of the vote, at 200 votes, with 96% of precincts reporting.