Early voting open for S.C. Senate District 35 primaries in Sumter, Lee counties

Both parties have runoffs June 25


The South Carolina runoffs are set for June 25, and early voting started today.

Races where no candidate earned a majority of the vote in the June 11 primary will have a runoff, with the top two vote-getters facing off in this continuation of the primary. In South Carolina, candidates must earn 50% of the vote plus one vote to secure the win outright.


Voters who voted in the June 11 primaries are limited to voting in the same party’s runoff.

Voters who did not vote in the June 11 primaries can choose to vote in either party’s runoff.


The deadline to return an absentee application for the runoffs was June 14. If you applied for an absentee ballot, you will receive it in the mail soon. Once you get it, complete it and return to your county voter registration office by mail or in person no later than 7 p.m. on June 25.

Early voting is today, June 19, through Friday, June 21, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., at the Sumter County Courthouse, 141 N. Main St., Room 114.

Polling places on Election Day will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. June 25. Bring your photo ID. You can check your precinct by going to https://vrems.scvotes.sc.gov/Voter/Login.


Clarendon County doesn’t have a runoff election.

Some Sumter County and Lee County voters have a runoff election. Those who live in State Senate District 35 have a runoff in both parties.

Candidates facing off for the Democratic nomination are Austin Floyd Jr. and Jeffrey Graham.

Candidates facing off for the Republican nomination are Lindsay Agostini and Mike Jones.

The winner of each party’s primary runoff will face each other in November.