Thank you to those who helped with Juneteenth Celebration


The Lee County Juneteenth Committee would like to thank everyone who helped to make the Juneteenth Celebration at the Mary McLeod Bethune Park, Mayesville, a success. The affair was well attended and enjoyed by all. As promised, there were food, soft drinks, music, uplifting entertainment and revealing history.

A special thank you to Commander Ray Johnson and Leroy Peeples of the S.C. Combat Veterans Group who along with Chief Navel Officer La-el Carter presented and posted the American flag, the S.C. state flag and the Juneteenth flag to open the ceremonies; Lovette Addison for a beautiful rendition of our National Anthem; Rep. William Wheeler for presenting the committee with a resolution from the South Carolina House of Representatives; the Rev. Willie Wilson for our opening prayer; Mr. Ennis Bryant representing the City of Bishopville as mayor pro-Tem; Sheriff Daniel Simon and accompanying police officers; Mike Bedenbaugh and the Lee County Fire Department; Rose Blackwell and Tim DuBose with Lee County EMS; Syntrell Thomson and Betty Bradshaw for Safelink Wireless and Health and Wellness information; Ahmad Kersey, our DJ; La-el Carter, our MC; Kelvin Dixon and Nigeria Myers for moving praise dances; P.O.K. Superior Dancers for their lively modern interpretive dances; Travis Reames, soloist extraordinaire; our historians Margarina M. James, Silvia Scott and Minnie Collins; Nichole Johnson for her words of encouragement and inspiration; the Coca-Cola Bottling Co. for providing soft drinks; our vendors Gloria Lewis - My Lucky Charm, Lena Elie - Mary Kay, Carolyn Ardyss - International Wear, Kelvin Perkins - Shugs Gift Baskets Plus, Patricia and Isaih Willis - GPI Productions, Shemika Williams - Save The Children, and a great big shout out to Freddy/Larry Rock and the Mt. Pleasant Class of 1984, for the tastiest fish, chicken and fries.


Lee County