Greatest Sumter Basketballers returns for 2017


It's March Madness, that glorious time of year when college basketball reigns supreme and we discover incredible players we've never heard of and will likely never see again.

One of the best, most visceral parts of the game are the sounds of sneakers on the hardwood, and a New York Times article asks, "Why Are Basketball Games So Squeaky?"

Turns out there are a lot of complex scientific reasons shoes squeak, but author John Branch boils it down to the fact that the sounds are really just "a persistent reminder that, for as much as the game evolves, there is one part of its tradition that will not be silenced." Amen.

As noted last week - - it's been three years since we've rolled out the ever-popular "Greatest Sumter Basketballers" lists, so today it's back and the floor is open for new submissions.

Just email me at or drop your information off at The Sumter Item offices, 36 West Liberty St., in the heart of beautiful downtown Sumter. And remember to slow down at the pedestrian crossings.

Without further ado, here's the current list of men through the ages that's been carefully crafted by our readers since 2009.

Wilbert Singleton, Ray Allen, Clarke Bynum, Will Bynum, Kenneth "Mooch" Richardson, Lee Anderson, Vincent Wilson, Ernest Session, Dean Johnson, Trey Harvin, Calvin Goins, Raymond Pringle, Walter Wheeler, Reggie Holmes, Roger McFaddin, Terrance Scriven, Terry Kinard, Odell Reuben, Ronnie Motley, Randy Weston, Humzie Way, Tony Mincey, Danny Ramsey, Sam Hunter, Barry Holzbach, Barry Parker, John McArthur, Craig Singleton, Art Beasley, Ricky Curtis, Brant Bahnmuller, Woody Lathan, Doug Lightbody, Skip Seebeck, Claude Burns, Tracy Oxendine, Marshall "Bucko" Edens, Byron Kinney, Spencer Player, Phil Sutton, Ed Bynum, Mark Kuhn, Robbie Davis, Ronnie Fiorini, Kelvin Green, Marcus Wilson, Ernest Rosenburg, Darren McDuffie, Cooper Wilson, Matt Talley, Mike Robinson, Greg Puckering, Tommy Hughes, Mike Towery, Kenny Rosefield, Floyd Vaughn, Manning Pringle Jr., Rhuel Pringle, Tony Wilson, Eric Parker, John Lewis, David Stone, Joe Spann, Fred Brogdon, Tip Kirby, Willie Anderson, Harry Lee Fulwood, Leroy Gary, Richard Singleton, Leon Rawlinson, Coley White, Lindberg "The Bird" Moody, Calvin McCroy, Bobby Baker, John Baker, Troy Baird, Chip Humphries, Will Dinkins, Hamilton Davis, Kevin Kieslich, Adam McClain, Terrence Kinard, Billy "Tex" Trembley, Ernest Stroman, Philip Mouradijan, Tommy "Cotton" Williams, Booth Chilcutt, Bobby Richardson, Tommy Edens, Ray Ardis, Henry Clarke, Tommy Martin, Charles "Pap" Propst, Charles "Flop" Shaw, Al Golden, James Robinson, Derrick Wright, Ronnie Mayrant, Harry Lee Cabbagestalk, David Jackson, Henry Holmes, Lee Rust Wells, David Allen, Terry Johnson, LeRoy Martin, Ed Cuttino, Jud Cuttino, Justin Porter, Paul Fer, Ricardo Wilson, Wesley Talley, Claude Lathan, Jackie Amos, Arthur Abbott and Stephon Blanding.

- - -

Here's the complete women's list, in no particular order:

Elizabeth Bultman, Frances (Burns) Hogan, Jeannie Richardson, Christie Richardson, Wesley Shaw, Margaret Shaw, Mikaela Hopkins, Karen Weishuhn, Tina Milford, Kappy Price, Susan Creech, Danielle (Weible) Taylor, Kaye (Watts) Chase, Sheila (Steele) Thacker, Suzanne (Steele) Sears, Tracy Montgomery, Laura Brailsford, Michelle Akers, Nichelle Akers, Tiffany Mayes, Beth (Ballard) Kinney, Margaret Hunter, Lucy Harris, Teresa (O'Hare) Alexander, Susanna Crosson, Bess DuRant, Lauren Davis, Elizabeth Moses, Emily Bland, Kelly Ross, Julia Gee Muldrow, Abbie Floyd Kirby, Susie Lowry Reynolds and Mary Lou Reynolds Lee; Elaine (Maggie) Watts Hanisch, Kay (Morris) Shugart, Judy (Epting) Shuping; Frances Fields; Lillian McGill; Ra'Quitta Lundy, Chris Mitchum, Valerie Allen, Christy Burrows Kelly, Ashley (Evans) Harper, Meri (Jones) DesChamps, Caroline (Erter) Burns, Heather Eldridge, Mollie (Simpson) Matthews, Heather Rowland, Kendra Rowland, Brennan Long, Meg (Brogdon) Hill, Allison Jackson, Shawna Waters, Lynn Finney, Shelia Hodge, Kathy Flaten, Tonya Williams, Julie Larson, B.J. Thames, Naretta Simon, Allene Fleming, Yvonne Lockwood, Lakyisha Wright, Nicole Gamble, Marsha (Cubbage) Somheil, Chris Edens, BeBe Karvelas (aka Judge Aphrodite Konduros); Annette and Jannette McFadden, Sarah Segars Barnes, Ann Norris , Joy Galloway Causey, Deborah Buford, Nichelle Akers, Marina Akers, Ansley Ard, Chris Mitchum Vandevander, Laura McLaughlin, Kappy Price and Naomi (Farmer) VanPatten.

- - -

Graham Osteen is Editor-At-Large of The Sumter Item. He can be reached at Follow him on Twitter @GrahamOsteen, or visit