CCTC's Health Sciences Division pins 45 students


Central Carolina Technical College's Health Sciences Division pinned seven massage therapists, 16 surgical technologists, 18 medical assistants and four pharmacy technicians during four recent pinning ceremonies.

The Massage Therapy, Surgical Technology and Medical Assisting pinning ceremonies were held on Aug. 1, and the Pharmacy Technician pinning ceremony was held on Aug. 2. All ceremonies were held in the Iris Room of CCTC's Health Sciences Center.

The Health Sciences Division offers an Associate Degree in Nursing; Diplomas in Medical Assisting and Surgical Technology; and certificates in Massage Therapy, Medical Record Coding, Patient Care Technology and Pharmacy Technology. Health Sciences programs are designed to provide graduates with immediate employment in the health care industry or prepare graduates to transfer to colleges.

The Massage Therapy program prepares graduates to work in direct client care settings to provide manipulation (massage) of the soft tissue structures of the body to prevent and alleviate pain, discomfort, muscle spasm and stress, and to promote health and wellness. Members of this year's Massage Therapy program graduating class are listed by county: Clarendon - Sawnteille L. Felder; Kershaw - Laura L. Richardson; Lee - Octavia S. Bradley and Jasmine T. Wilson; Richland - Michael L. Joyner; and Sumter - Louis S. Stacks II and Carol Lucille Wilson.

The Surgical Technology Diploma program is designed to prepare individuals for employment as surgical technologists. Surgical technologists are integral members of the surgical team who work closely with surgeons, anesthesiologists, registered nurses and other surgical personnel in delivering patient care and assuming appropriate responsibilities before, during and after surgery. The primary responsibility of the surgical technologist is to maintain the sterile field while ensuring that all other members of the surgical team adhere to aseptic technique. Members of this year's Surgical Technology program graduating class are listed by county: Clarendon - Danielle D. Campbell and Ineshia L. McFadden; Florence - Courtney J. Collins; Kershaw - Forrest L. Lott and Tosha L. Price; Lexington - Odunayo K. Ojo; Richland - Lindsey M. Stroud; and Sumter - Shanelle D. Abney, Alyssa R. Boothe, Brittany S. Donlon, Hailey M. Johnson, Courtney J. Knudson, James A. Outlaw, Brianna C. Pruitt, Bailey Ramsey and Hunter A. Royal.

Medical assistants are broadly defined as individuals who assist other health care professionals in offices and/or other medical settings, performing delegated administrative and clinical duties in accordance with respective state laws governing such actions and activities. Members of this year's Medical Assisting program graduating class are listed by county: Clarendon - Shelby Boykin and Marquisha P. Vicente; Kershaw - Priscilla Martinez; Lee - Ishmael O. Henry and Kayla D. Huntley; Richland - Kristi Benson and Shaneika F. Taylor; and Sumter - Morgan Braswell, Misty M. Kazmierski, Aubrey M. Nichols, Florangel Paez, Gloria J. Snells, Aveona M. Taylor, Carrie L. Trahan, Sarah D. Van Allen, Jessica N. Weaver, Monesha C. Williams and Shonderas L. Witherspoon.

Pharmacy technicians are allied health professionals who assist and support licensed pharmacists in providing pharmaceutical services directly and indirectly to patients. Members of this year's Pharmacy Technician program graduating class are listed by county: Richland - Myrna N. James; and Sumter - Briana R. Lucas, Lakimbria K. Porcher and Crystal M. Wallace.