About Us

Osteen Publishing Company and The Sumter Item were founded by Hubert Graham Osteen on October 15, 1894, in Sumter, S.C.
  Today, six generations of the Osteen family have been involved in community newspapering for 159 years, one of the longest continuous family involvements in the United States.
  In 2011, the Osteens purchased three publications serving the Jacksonville, Fla., area. Clay Today and the Ponte Vedra Recorder are weekly newspapers, and Car Connection is a weekly magazine serving Jacksonville area automobile dealers.
  In 2012, the company purchased the weekly Las Cruces (New Mexico) Bulletin and its associated publications.
  In 2014, the company purchased Gulf Coast Newspapers LLC in Baldwin County, Alabama. Gulf Coast Newspapers consists of five separate newspapers serving the communities across Baldwin County, tourism related publications, a website dedicated to the Alabama Gulf Coast and a strong Facebook and Twitter presence. The newspapers are published under five different names: The (Fairhope) Courier, The Independent, The Baldwin Times, The Foley Onlooker and The (Gulf Shores) Islander.

SUMTER, SOUTH CAROLINA
Publications

The Sumter Item
Life is Good in Sumter (annual community guide)
Lakeside
A variety of special sections
www.theitem.com

Contacts
Jack Osteen, Editor & Publisher
jack@theitem.com
803-774-1238
20 North Magnolia St.
Sumter, S.C. 29150

Larry Miller, CEO
lmiller@theitem.com
803-774-1277
20 North Magnolia St.
Sumter, S.C. 29150

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA
Publications

Clay Today
Ponte Vedra Recorder
First Coast Register
Car Connection
Oakleaf
A variety of special sections
www.claytodayonline.com
www.pontevedrarecorder.com
www.carconnection.com

Contacts
Clay County
Jon Cantrell, Publisher

jon@opcfla.com
904-264-3200
3513 U.S. Hwy. 17
Fleming Island, Florida 32003

Ponte Vedra
Susan Griffin, Publisher

susan@opcfla.com
904-686-3938
1102 A1A North, Unit 108
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida 32082

Car Connection
Tommy Hebert

tommy@opcfla.com
904-994-6811

Northern Florida Publication Distribution Services
Rob Conwell

rob@opcfla.com
984-686-3936
1102 A1A North, Unit 108
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082

LAS CRUCES, NEW MEXICO
Publications

The Las Cruces Bulletin
New Mexico Annual Legislative Guide
Life is Good in Las Cruces (annual community guide)
A variety of special sections
www.lascrucesbulletin.com

Contact
Richard Coltharp, Publisher

richard@lascrucesbulletin.com
575-524-8061
840 N. Telshor Blvd. Suite E
Las Cruces, NM 88011

BALDWIN COUNTY, ALABAMA
Publications

The (Fairhope) Courier
The Independent
The Baldwin Times
The Foley Onlooker
The (Gulf Shores) Islander
Gulf Coast Buzz
Beachin'
Boomers
A variety of special sections
www.gulfcoastnewstoday.com

Contact
Sudie Gambrell, Group Publisher

sudie@GulfCoastNewspapers.com
251-943-2151
217 N. McKenzie St.
Foley, AL 36535

Osteen Publishing Company Board of Directors
Hubert D. Osteen, Chairman
hubert@theitem.com
803-774-1298

Graham Osteen
graham@theitem.com
843-307-0196

Kyle Osteen
kyle@theitem.com
803-774-1254

Jack Osteen
jack@theitem.com
803-774-1238